L’Homme Qui Rit (2012)

The Man Who Laughs (1928) Scene 7 of 11

Before I begin… Merry Belated Christmas Everyone! I do hope your Holiday went well. I had obviously been preoccupied with my family over the passed few days. And, well to be completely frank with you all, I just chose not to complete my blog.

I know! So selfish and indecent of me. But, I did manage to come back with quite the Christmas gift for my classic movie lovers out there.

So over my winter break, I discovered quite a treasure amongst the internet. Above I have a clip from one of my ultimate favorite Classic Films: L’Homme Qui Rit – The Laughing Man. Which was translated into The Man Who Laughs in 1928. This Movie, Stars: Mary Philibin (Dea), Olga Baclanova & of course, our ‘Laughing Man,’ Conrad Veidt–whom you may recognize from Casablanca.

Side Note: Please tell me that I’m not the only one who believes that Olga Baclanova is Madonna’s great great grandmother?

The resemblance is remarkable.

Regardless, my topic happens to be on Victor Hugo’s, L’Homme Qui Rit. As I was scrimmaging through Photos of Veidt as main character, Gwynplaine, I found a photo that was…modern, within the shuffle. I had wondered at first, if this would lead me to some sort of unnecessary fan made video. But friends…

The Laughing Man is being remade.

When I saw this, I had thought, this is a hard film to remake. The story is fairly simple, but that’s what makes it oh so complex! I had always dreamt of a remake for this film & plenty of others, but look at how The Women turned out! Although, that was made here in LA. No Offence, but we’ve gone down the drain since, I don’t know when! Which is why I most likely appreciate Classic Film so much; I mean, it’s where movies began. From the Arrival of a Train at a station to…The Hunger Games! Nothing against The Hunger Games, I actually enjoyed that movie a lot! It’s just, you can easily name the movies that are hits in Modern day Cinema, but back in the day, it was competitive & beautiful. Agh! Off topic, once again. So, Regardless, this movie I actually believe will be an entertaining hit. It’s literally taken from the title of Victor Hugo’s ‘The Laughing Man.’

Also, if you are unaware folks, Victor Hugo is also well known for a book titled Les Miserables. Which was transformed into the form of film and a Play.

Both forms were highly successful, with the same phenomenal story of Redemption. Hugo had always added intriguing characters to each of his stories. For Example, Notre-Dame de Paris or better known as The Hunchback of Notre Dame; the main character is quite ‘odd’ and, frightening to say the least.

Although these characters are what make the book (& movie adaptation) so wonderful and consuming. Being that the character is so different, it causes for you to feel for them, and…well, understand their circumstances. Hugo just knew how to feed the heart.

Nevertheless, the remake is going to be made in Hugo’s lingo [French], which, I think, gives it more depth and interest. Being that Hugo himself was French. And there is just something about the French that is so darn Passionate!

Moving on, there is one thing that I do not agree with, regarding the new 2012 Man Who Laughs. Below I will place a link for the film, please take a quick look at it. Continuing: his smile. What is this supposed to be? An interpretation of the Joker’s background? Where’s Gwynplaine!?

I was just shocked by our main characters’ less shocking ‘smile.’ In the 1928 version of The Man Who Laughs, Conrad Veidt [main character], had a smile that was shocking, which caused for you to feel guilt towards Veidts’ condition.

Also, Veidt’s character was very compelling. He may have had that obvious smirk on his smacker, but he sure did express the world through his eyes. I’m hoping that the remake will be able to achieve the same awestruck expressions as Conrad Veidt had done.

Also, his lover, Dea. A huge portion, being that she is blind and willing to accept Gwynplaine, regardless of his condition. Her character (played by Mary Philibin) is a very captivating Character; you must feel that she is being ‘somewhat’ betrayed when Gwynplaine visits Olga Baclanova’s Character. And although Baclanova’s Character acts as though she accepts Gwynplaine, she than laughs at him after. Thinking that marrying him is some sort of joke.

Nevertheless! All these things come into play when regarding this film. Every crack must be filled for me to be fulfilled.

To me, there is something so irreplaceable about a Classic Film, don’t you agree?

 I know I will enjoy L’Homme Qui Rit but I just know that it will never replace the beauty that was portrayed in Paul Leni’s ‘The Man Who Laughs.’

Well, I hope you received some delightful information! Or maybe frightening, depending on how you took the news…Regardless, Check back soon to here me rant and possibly dish out some wonderful & historical movie facts.

Bye kiddies!

L ‘Homme Qui Rit (2012) Trailer

