The Brain that Wouldn’t Die (1962)

“Alive…Without a Body…Fed by an unspeakable horror from hell!”

Indeed, this was an unspeakable horror, from the Devil himself! Or was that The Exorcist?

So, I just recently discovered this film from, none other then, my beautiful & resourceful Mother. In a bit of small chit-chat, we both began talking Classic Film. My Mother then mentioned a sci-fi film that I may enjoy; and in fact, I did!

Shockingly, this Corny sci-fi film was fairly entertaining. It was one of those movies that you knew would absolutely suck. But there’s something about it that just keeps your attention. The story and style was so strange and bizarre, it kept my odd-ball interest.

If some of you may not recognize this movie by name, it was also featured in the film, Heartburn (1986) with Jack Nicholson and Meryl Streep. This isn’t when I happened to catch the film, but Heartburn was the topic that sparked me wanting to see this horrid Sci-fi movie.

So, back to the piece of Classic Cinema, I’m just going to be raving on the horrid style that will keep your attention. With a few SPOILERS, by the way.

So, the movie begins pretty quickly, introducing the two main characters who happened to be doctors. Which foreshadowed to me, that they will soon use their Doctor Skills to… maybe, possibly, re-attach a head to a body? Dun Dun! Regardless, the two Doctors are a happy couple, who both are equally great with their Doctor qualities. And they still manage to be in love.

Anyway! There happens to be a horrid car accident, that ironically detaches the head of the Female Doctor. The Male Doctor then keeps her head, excited to re-attach it to another women’s body. Yeah, it gets weird. Although, please tell me you think this is amazingly interesting and horrid so far!

Well, trust me, that isn’t even the half of it! So, the Male Doctor then goes out searching for a female body for his lover to be attached to, and it suddenly gets kind of confusing…the man becomes LUSTFUL. I know what you’re thinking, it’s not like a handsome Male Doctor to be Lusting after other women! That is unspeakable!

So… the movie then continues from there, as any other film. There are some interesting plot twists, and it just keeps your interest!

Although, I have to say, the leading lady (the one with no body), has an absolutely annoying voice! She just sits on a table most of the movie (her head, I mean) and during this time, there are long drawn out shots where she continues to plot killing her husband. But, I’ve said enough already.

The beautiful Virginia Leith played “The Brain that Wouldn’t Die,” and she was a stone cold fox. That woman was absolutely beautiful. Sadly, this Brainless movie was her only well known film. She wasn’t featured in much, which made sense. People assumed she was bodyless! I’m not kidding though. Apparently, back in the day, people like Patty McCormack (The Bad Seed, 1956), Linda Blair (The Exorcist, 1973) and beautiful Virginia Leith, would not be chosen for their insane roles in horror movies. It’s the same with comedians, like the Three Stooges, they were bullied even off the set because of what was shot on the set. It’s funny how people can take things so seriously. Fear. That’s all it is! Well, not with comedy. When it’s comedic, they just find it funny to inflict pain…

Either way, I would absolutely hate to be remembered by one Sci-Fi film. “Hey! Aren’t you the brain that wouldn’t die!” Mmm…that’s just not a great way to be recalled. Regardless, I loved this movie, and I give the actress props for having put herself out there. Not many Actors/Actresses would be willing to be a head in a movie.

So, tell me what you think. I’ve posted the movie below (via YouTube.com), so feel free to check it out and tell me your take on this horrendous Sci-Fi movie! I think it’s so bad that it’s good! Something about it was so compelling. Maybe the fact that Virginia Leith could only be a part of the movie. Get it. She’s only a part of the movie because her body is gone…

Thanks for reading!

