Roman Polanski’s Rosemary’s Baby (1968)

Minnie Castevet: “He chose you, honey! From all the women in the world to be the mother of his only living son!”

So for this Years Valentines Day, I watched the long awaited, Rosemary’s Baby (1968). Hm, I wouldn’t say it was the best choice for V-Day, but I sure was entertained. It was interesting and kept my attention! I can’t say that I absolutely loved the crap out of this film, but there was something about it that was so astonishing and amazing!

It’s interesting, because, you know when a movie gets super awkward and there’s an untimely sex scene where everyone in your home happens to walk passed or notice (thankfully that didn’t occur), and when you hold the controller you feel responsible for what happens on screen. Well, that interesting feeling…well not ‘interesting’ really, more like unfit…

Regardless! That anonymous feeling came upon me while watching Rosemary’s Baby. Although, it wasn’t until later that I realized that, that scene is the most important scene of the movie. It was also the most corrupt. The most awkward. The most controversial. The most strange. The most weird. The most creepy. The most dreadful. Oh Lord. ha, ha.

I’m just trying to obliterate this specific scene from my mind, and I just. Can’t. It’ll take a bit of time, but that has nothing to do with nothing.

So, anyhow, I have to say that the movie as a whole was quite entertaining! I would definitely say that’s one of my top ten/fave five, movies. Roman Polanski, man. He had a sick mind. For someone to come up with such a plot!

In fact, his life actually relates to the plots’ that he created. He had a sick mind. Sick! Sick, I tell you!

This movie gave you that horrible feeling in the pit of your stomach. Do you know what I speak of reader? It’s that feeling that makes everything feel real awkward. Makes you want to leave your light on while you sleep and all. Although, I was actually able to sleep well! ha, ha.

(POSSIBLE SPOILER AHEAD)

So, you know how when you watch a movie and the main Character is the only one who is normal, with a dozen of weirdos around him/her? Well, that’s how this movie was! You felt uncomfortable for the Main Character because she was definitely surrounded by a different kind. Which wasn’t quite a mystery at the beginning of the movie.

Although, then here comes the ending when our Naive Main Character begins putting things together. She sees her demon child, and she then gives into the demon baby’s possessive crying! I don’t understand.

I mean, I guess when you’re the mother who bore the devils child, you would feel this odd attachment. So, there’s an exception. But all my sister and I could think was, “Stab him! Stab the baby Satan with the knife!” She holds a knife during the last scene, if you recall.

Why. Didn’t. She. Use. It.

If I were in her place, my first immediate instinct would be to stab that demon baby Satan in the face! Just rid the world of this demon possessed child! Could you imagine… a Little Demon Baby Satan bore on the earth. Not safe, man.

So! I would say that I give Rosemary’s Baby a solid… 8 out of 10.

It wasn’t amazing (being that Mia Farrow’s Character was so highly submissive to her husband), but it also wasn’t bad! I just know that I would want to wait a good year before I decide to watch it again.

So tell me, Would you have stabbed the little Demon Baby Satan, if you were in the Main Characters place?

Or would you have gone Rosemary’s way?

