Rosemary’s Baby: Under the Black Cloak

Ok, so I have found some new information regarding the behind the scenes of Roman Polanski’s “Rosemary’s Baby.” And, indeed, it does deserve it’s own landing page. This info may be new to some of you/heard of before (maybe plenty of times), but it was recently just brought to my attention, and I felt it was ‘ClassicfilmGuru,’ worthy.

 So, first and foremost, I have done my research and taken the time to read several different articles just so my readers aren’t under the assumption that I’m making up information just from rumors… Just wanted to clear the air [I’ll also link my sources below].

Well, to begin, my sister and I were watching “Lost in Translation,” and she told me that my mother (of course) told her that Frank Sinatra & Mia Farrow had a fling.

It was more than a fling.

Mia and Frank were married and the age difference was shocking. Frank could have been Mia’s father; although his intentions with her were all Sinatra’s Style, which was dreadfully far from a father-like position.

So, I watched a bit of an interview from “Intimate Portrait” where Farrow described her feelings towards Frank and in that she also talked of the first time they had met.

Here’s how it went, according to an immediate source (Mia herself): Sinatra had sent a friend of his over to Farrow while in a restaurant/bar. Farrow was asked her age, she answered, “19.”

“Would you like to come sit with us?” he asks. Farrow says, “Sure.”

As Mia approaches Frank, she drops her bag, also dropping all her belongings; her retainer landing right next to Sinatra’s foot, “I picked that up first,” Farrow mentions.

Anyway, skipping detail, Sinatra asks Farrow to go with him to Palm Springs. She assumed this was just a date. Farrow says that she thought Sinatra was “…just being nice, until he kissed me.”

The two than fall in love and marry on July 19, 1966.

It was rumored that when Farrow got the leading role in ‘Rosemary’s Baby,’ Sinatra was highly displeased with her Pixie Cut. That’s a lie. Sinatra was actually very pleased with the cut, although, he wasn’t pleased with the fact that Farrow would have to work so often, not leaving much time for the two to be together.

During this time, Sinatra had requested that Farrow drop the lead role in Rosemary’s Baby, just to be in a film with him.

This could have been his ploy, just so Farrow would be able to have more time with him. Regardless, Sinatra suddenly realized his age; he realized that he was coming to an end in his acting career, ready to settle down. Farrow was in her prime.

She was just 19 when she had been cast in Rosemary’s Baby. How could she drop that? This movie is what put her on the map! If she had given into Frank, she would have gone nowhere, especially being that Frank was quite the womanizer.

Moving on… Sinatra had given Farrow two options. Leave the film, or leave me.

Once Sinatra had sent the divorce papers to the set, Farrow states that she just signed them, knowing her decision and knowing his.

I don’t blame her. Farrow would have plummeted if she had not signed those papers.

And she had done the exact opposite. Rosemary’s Baby was a movie that placed both Roman Polanski and Mia Farrow on the map.

Although, events had taken place just months after the release of Rosemary’s Baby that had caused Polanski to break from film.

It was discovered that Roman Polanski wanted to cast his wife Sharon Tate as Rosemary, but he went with Mia Farrow.

Almost fourteen months after the release of Rosemary’s Baby, Sharon Tate, who was eight months pregnant, was brutally murdered.

The irony of this murder is that it was ritualistic, and Rosemary’s Baby was ritualistic as well.

This murder was apart of the Manson family murders, and is still heavily remembered today.

This was all so shocking to me, I had never thought people could really be so sick as to do such gruesome things. In fact, the Manson family had taken Tate’s blood and wrote the word ‘Pig’ on the wall in her home.

It’s just sick.

Although, I do not want to end on such a brutal note, instead I will end on a couple questions I’d like for you to answer: what did you think of Frank Sinatra and Mia Farrow? Were they a compelling couple that should have lasted longer? Or was it meant to end from the beginning?

Sources:

The Terror Trap: Rosemary’s Baby –http://www.terrortrap.com/topten/rosemarysbaby/

The Vigilant Citizen – http://vigilantcitizen.com/moviesandtv/roman-polanskis-rosemarys-baby-and-the-dark-side-of-hollywood/

