Legendary Classics: My Top 10

1. You Can’t Take it With You (1938)

It’s Jean Arthur. All Jean Arthur; she’s amazing, and she makes the movie what it is.

Well, Frank Capra has a bit to do with this film as well, I suppose.

I’m just kidding folks.

I love this movie because it’s funny, entertaining, romantic, and all of the above. I love the style that it had and the great cast! I mean… Jimmy Stewart, Lionel Barrymore, Edward Arnold, Spring Byington…

And Jean Arthur. Of course.

2. Platinum Blonde (1931)

So this was the first movie that I had ever seen both Loretta Young and Jean Harlow. I also had never really heard of Loretta Young, or Jean Harlow.

This movie just had the most intriguing plot. The way Robert Williams was quick, witty, and oddly attractive?

I also loved Jean Harlow for her tenacity. She knew what she wanted and I have to admit that there were times that I was on her side! Although things ended up working themselves out, Loretta Young had her chance to reveal her feelings before… just saying.

3. The Man Who Laughs (1928)

So, I have several reasons for adding this to the list. Conrad Veidt is a big reason, but this movie holds a bit of meaning to me.

Did you know? This was my first Silent Film.

Yes, it’s true. Not even Chaplin made it before Veidt.

I think all film is beautiful, but I truly appreciate silent film. I mean, how can you not? They were the films that gave us an even path towards the furtherance in film.

Regardless, I love this movie to death! I’m no sucker for Romance, but this movie took Romance to another level. Love, love, love it! And Conrad Veidt.

4. Mr. Skeffington (1944)

I don’t know why I didn’t place this first. I’m not going in order by the way!

But, this. Movie. It is by absolute favorite movie. Of all time!

I watch it maybe five or four times a month. Bette Davis is wonderful, Claude Rains is wonderful. This movie is wonderful!

The story is to die for, and the acting is beyond compare.

Mr. Skeffington Everyone!!

5. When Ladies Meet (1944)

I love this movie so much! But than again, I love every movie I see. Especially the classics.

Nonetheless! This movie is one that I happened to come across when we had TCM (darn expensive Cable).

It was also the movie that pushed me through finishing and completing my book! Which is still in the works ya’ll.

Anyway, I love that Joan Crawford and Greer Garson are both so equally strong in their own way, and yet they both live in denial. Ah! This movie is sooo good, guys.

6. Mildred Pierce (1945)

I. Love. This. Movie.

I need a new word. How about… admire? cherish? prize?

Well, whatever word, this movie is fantastic! It’s got such a thick plot, and even after the movie had gone already for 45 minutes, I still wanted more.

And, although she didn’t have a big role, I love Eve Arden in this movie. She’s a prized possession in this film. The perfect friend and helper.

Mildred Pierce people. Great movie.

7. The Brain that Wouldn’t Die (1962)

This movie, my God. It was outrageously funny, I cherish it. Truly.

It’s too interesting and continues to weird me out in this odd way.

I also admire that the actress had took this role during this time, she was a Goddess. I had hoped that she was in other films, just so I could add and admire a new actress on my list of faves, but unfortunately. She didn’t get many roles.

Still enjoy and cherish this film to the greatest extent of cherishness.

8. Kitty Foyle (1940)

Ginger Rogers at her best.

I really look up to Ginger in this film. Although, every film, she’s strong, and never cracks, unless she hits rock bottom.

Also… I can’t ignore this ladies.

Dennis Morgan.

Good. LORD. That is the only man who can attractively do that little side smirk/smile. If you’ve seen this movie, you know what I’m talking about.

If my sister is reading (you should be), this is for you.

9. Auntie Mame (1958)

MaME!

Ok, one of the longest movie that I’ve seen that I actually enjoy, and love to death. Well, that’s not including Cleopatra. That movie was truly the longest movie ever, but I didn’t enjoy it. Which is why Auntie Mame is far different!

Also, I seem to always get something new out of the movie. After having seen it so often, I just see something new from it every time.

Rosalind Russell is a Queen in this film. So captivating, its beyond what I can describe.

 

10. The Little Foxes (1941)

Alright, I saved the best for last.

This movie is devastating, irritating, compelling, lovely, heartbreaking, all of the above. This movie is the definition of Drama.

Bette Davis, great as always. She owns the screen and has so much control, it makes you feel powerful!

Love this movie! Enough said.

So, this is just a list of some of my favorite movies. This was not easy folks. After finishing I realized all the other movies that I enjoyed, but I may make this a monthly ritual, where I add more to my list, what do you think?

Now you tell me, what are some of your favorite Classic Films?

