The It Girl: Clara Bow (1927)

‘”IT” is the quality possessed by some which draws all others with its magnetic force. With “IT” you win all men if you are a 5224729368_5fbc5903b2_zwoman–and all women if you are a man. “IT” can be a quality of the mind as well as a physical attraction.’

So just recently my Dearest Mother and I decided to finally sit down and watch a Classic Film. You all have no idea how long it’s been since I’ve actually had the chance to sit down and enjoy a good Classic Film. And Fortunately, I have been privileged to have a week off from School!

Nonetheless, my Mother and I had a great chance to sit down and watch our first Clara Bow movie.

Now, I’ve seen her in my Mother’s Make-up Book, she was inspiration for a photographer or something like that. But anyhow! Other then that Photo, I had never really seen her in a movie, nor was I really interested in what movie’s she had been in.

And don’t get me wrong! I’m more then interested in actresses and actors, this had just been during the time when I thought Classic Film was OLD.

So, to continue, I basically first saw Clara Bow in a make-up book. And, obviously, a picture was not enough to describe the great characteristics that are enhanced in a film

Now, ‘Betty Lou’ may be ‘IT’ in the movie, but Clara Bow is and always will be the ‘IT’ Girl.

There is so much spice and fun in this woman! She brought plenty of life to the film and I loved her courageousness when it came to the fancy high-class Cyrus Waltham (Antonio Moreno).

When I watched this film, all I could think of was, “How is it that she gleamed with so much confidence?” And ‘IT’ was written all over her!

I have such great respect for women who own themselves. It doesn’t matter where their at, where they’ve been, or how they got to where they are. There confidence has been so consistent that it keeps them going!

That’s how Clara Bow is. She was one happy young woman who did not give a care of what people thought about her.

Also, that unique style she possessed. I don’t think anyone else could have pulled that off. The way she walked into the Ritz with this High-Class Confidence. I guess that’s why she has ‘IT.’

It’s so interesting. I have never seen the word ‘IT’ in the form of a noun. Now there is just so much meaning and relevance to ‘IT!’ But of course, as Monty (William Austin) said it, some people are just a couple of “IT-less, ‘ITS’.”

Well now lovelies. If you haven’t already done so, please take the time to watch ‘IT.’ It’s on YouTube, as well as Netflix! I highly recommend it.

MY RATING ON ‘IT’ (1927): 10 OUT OF 10

Thank you for reading!

