Top 10 Classics Hollywood Could NEVER Remake

MoviesPsycho_web.jpgSo, I just recently watched a couple films that my Family and I were considering to be pretty awesome remakes. Though, I was considering the amount of films that Hollywood would truly butcher if there was an attempted remake. Now, I want you all to remember that this is all just my opinion or preference so don’t get all up in a tizzy when I name a movie that you think would be an awesome remake. On the other hand, it just so happens that I am a wizard in the area of film, so what you think is irrelevant.

Just kidding. I love to hear everyone’s opinion on Classic Film. Sorta. But, anyway, moving forward, here is just a quick list of films that I think Hollywood could never remake. Ever.

And…3…2…1.

1. Rosemary’s Baby

Rosemarys-Baby-17No. This just cannot be remade, and unfortunately. Hollywood has already got their scrawny little fingers on this film. Worst of all, their forming this movie into a TV series that takes place in Paris.

Why Paris? It doesn’t make any sense to me; maybe you find it to be clear as glass, but I just can’t understand it.

This film was too eerie, disturbing, and beyond what I could handle when I first watched it, I just do not believe that Hollywood could remake it the same way. And I will be scarred for life if they really fall through with this TV series.

Will you be tuning in if it makes it on TV?

2. Casablanca

casablanca-5This is a Classic. It’s one of those movies that everyone knows, whether they’ve seen it or not, people are aware of it. Even out of the womb. Well…that’s a bit drastic, but you get my point.

The only reason that I think this movie couldn’t be remade is because, it’s irremakable. Is that a word? Well, what I mean is that this movie can’t be remade. It’s too difficult to cast actors and actresses that can do what Humphrey Bogart, Ingrid Bergman, Paul Henreid and Conrad Veidt can do. Oh! And Claude Rains.

These were all big A-List actors, and on top of that, they were all the A-List actors! No one can replace or try to fill the shoes that were made through this awesome classic. Don’t you agree? Yet, it would be quite a site to see this movie being remade…

3. Now Voyager

Bette-Davis-and-Paul-Henreid-on-Set-now-voyager-26777288-1280-1031This would be an absolute joke if Hollywood really attempted to remake it. Ha Ha, I just realized that I have such a strong opinion on Hollywood. It’s not always their fault, I should be nicer.

Regardless, HOLLYWOOD COULD NEVER REMAKE THIS. Ever. Ever.

I do believe that any Bette Davis film, will always be a Bette Davis film. There could never be any other like her, and the film will never compare due to the fact that Bette is such a beauty in movies. I don’t know how she did it, but she did it! So no one else can!

4. The Thin Man

Thin-trioSo, I was contemplating putting this movie on the list. I was thinking about it, and it’s possible that this movie could be remade, with the right actors. And the right dog of course.

Although, I also think that if it were to be remade, it could and would never be half as funny as the original.

William Powell and Myrna Loy had this creative and witty chemistry that made the most sense in the world, and I couldn’t see any other actors or actresses fitting it, completely.

Apparently, the director of the worst Pirates of the Caribbean (On Stranger Tides), is planning on remaking this film. And of course, he wants to use Johnny Depp as Nick. I was thinking, yeah, sure it could possibly work, but at the same time, it doesn’t fit. At all!

What do you think? Could Johnny really do this?

5. The Philadelphia Story

PhiladelphiaStory_300x298I put this movie on my list, because it can’t be remade. There, I don’t see how much more clear I need to get.

Kidding! Of course I have a few things I need to say about why it can’t be remade.

Katharine Hepburn.

James Stewart.

And Cary Grant.

Ok, now I’m done.

6. A Place in the Sun

Annex - Clift, Montgomery (A Place in the Sun)_05Just as I had said about Bette and her films being solely for Bette, I feel the exact same way for the beautiful Elizabeth Taylor.

She was very mysteriously beautiful in this movie, and I enjoyed her playfulness with Montgomery Clift.

I found Montgomery Clift’s performance to be very compelling and the relationship between the two (Clift and Taylor) was extremely mysterious and romantic. I actually don’t think I’ve ever seen such a romantic couple on screen in the 50s like I did with this one.

Also, that wonderful Shelley Winters. Some part of me did want her to die, but watching it again reminded me that Clift was the bad guy all along, and he played her. In fact he ended being a real jerk.

So, all in all, this movie cannot be remade. Just as I’ve said in the last million of paragraphs.

7. Scarface

1-scarface-ylli-haruniI’ve heard rumors going about saying that there may be a possibly remake coming out for Scarface, and I said, No. This cannot happen because Al Pacino left some huge shoes to fill in and I don’t think anyone else can what Pacino has done in this movie.

I know, you’re probably thinking that this movie isn’t a Classic. But did you know that the word Classic means that it’s the highest quality and outstanding of its kind?

Well, I think that Scarface is the highest quality of it’s kind, and cannot be remade.

In fact, many classics are difficult to remake because they have so much originality, it’s just like this repetition of a film, because they ran out of ideas.

8. Splendor in the Grass

Natalie-in-Splendor-in-te-Grass-natalie-wood-5190762-660-371First of all. Warren Beatty is handsome and Natalie Wood is absolutely gorgeous. I don’t think anyone can compare or relate to the actor and actress of this movie. Physically and Mentally.

The acting in this film is so difficult to remake. It’s not just the movie or the story and who the director is.

It’ll be most difficult to remake what Natalie Wood and Warren Beatty did, and I doubt it would even compare!

9. Psycho

psycho-anthony-perkins-as-norman-batesNobody can replace Anthony Perkins!

No one! He was so sinister and innocent in his act, it would never be the same if someone else had attempted to remake his character.

Although, I’m a bit late on this because of the fact that there has been several remakes. But did they do as well? No, I don’t think so.

Alfred Hitchcock is a genius and the only one who can actually direct such a twisted story. PLEASE, NO MORE REMAKES!

10.  The Wizard of Oz

wizard-of-oz-original1This is the original of all originals and no matter how many twists and turns they make with the story, it will never, ever be the same.

I’ve seen the story of the witch, the story before Oz, the story after. They were all bunk.

Except Wicked, but that’s a play, it doesn’t really count.

I’m talking about the ORIGINAL film that started it all. This could never be remade, and it’s classic unremastered effects made it all the more perfect!

So, this is about it! My list of ten films I believe could never be remade. To be honest, a classic can only be remade if it’s worthy of remaking. Meaning that it was awful and needs a remake. But almost all the majority of classics, must stay classic by not being remade. So this is a warning to Hollywood: DO NOT (I REPEAT) DO NOT, REMAKE ANY MORE FILMS! America is smarter than this and we can create original stories for goodness sake!!

Erm,…so thank you so much for reading, and please leave a comment below. Also feel free to contact me!

