This Property is Condemned (1966)

TPISC_Movie-PosterIt has been quite a while since I have posted any new film reviews.

I say this with all sincerity, I became so extremely busy over these passed few months. Though, I am proud to say that I have Graduated from College and am as free as a button.

Well…until I find a job of course. But until that point, I am free to write of all the films that I have seen within these passed couple of months!

Now, within the span of time that I disappeared, I was able to watch a great deal of new Classics. This is all thanks to my History of Cinema class! I was introduced to a whole new genre of Classic Film that I had no interest in once before. We watched a lot of Foreign films, many honorary classics, and some quite strange short films.

Though, on this lovely afternoon, I would like to trail all the way back to March the third of 2014, where I was introduced to yet another Tennessee Williams Play.

You know, I have to say that I am pretty much in love with anything written by Tennessee Williams. He knows exactly how to write a depressing story that still keeps you captivated and not entirely drowned in tears.

Anyway, thanks to Amazon Instant, my dearest mother and I discovered this movie called, This Property is Condemned (1966) with some pretty amazing actors. And I actually think that I’ve never seen these two on screen together before.

SVOD-L-This-Property-Is-CondemnedAs you may have guessed, I’m talking about Robert Redford and Natalie Wood. What a duo! These two shot this play right through the ceiling.

Though, I have no comparison because I’ve never actually seen the play, BUT, from their performance, I’m sure it topped something.

Of course, Natalie Wood stole the show completely. She fully convinces the audience of every character that she plays. She’s so believable!

And of course, Robert Redford adds some major definition to Natalie Wood’s already well played role.

You know, just so you can get an idea of what I’m talking about, watch this trailer. You may need to shield your eyes at one point or another, the talent is just so strong!

Okay, I do admit that this trailer is quite corny, but it does show a great deal of Natalie Wood’s talent in this film, which is what impressed me most. It’s the reason I kept watching! The reason it was so captivating! The reason it deserves so much more recognition! The reason I love Natalie Wood! ha, ha. This is all very true, though.

Also, I just have to mention again, Tennessee Williams, man. He is so talented! And so depressed! But I love it.

I feel that this film/play did not get half as much recognition as, let’s say…A Streetcar Named Desire? And Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, and The Glass Menagerie! Sort of sad because it has the most amazing A-list actors and such a valuable story. I’m just saying.

So, before this turns into a short essay, I just want to conclude by saying… Hello again! I’m so happy to be writing some new posts for all who love the Classics and I’ve missed it tremendously.

I will most definitely be back with more reviews and critics. Please be sure to leave a comment below and watch this movie, ASAP!

 

 

