Of Human Bondage (1934)

Of-Human-BondageI really do believe that I should be shunned. Maybe publicly ridiculed. Maybe hung? No wait, stoned. No, that’s a bit extreme.

Just know…I have been thinking of the integrity of my blog for a very long time. It’s now been about…4 months, since my last post.

Yikes! That is not good at all!

How this happened, I do not know, but believe me when I say that this will not happen again. I’ve apologized far too much and worked far too hard to see the slight growth in this blog, and I refuse to let it die down!

Aside from my not-so-short vacation into oblivion, how is everyone in the Word Press/Classic Film community? I really do miss blogging and plan on returning with a vengeance!

So, in lieu of my vengeful return, I decided to share this film with you all. It’s yet another Bette Davis hit, which I had no idea even existed. It’s one of those films that annoys the living crap out of you, but then again, this is what makes a film so intriguingly good, don’t you agree?

The movie is based on a novel written by W. Somerset Maugham. It follows a young English Medical student named Philip Carey (played by the lovely, Leslie Howard), who gives up on his artistic dreams after meeting a waitress named Mildred Rogers (played by Bette). Of course, Howard’s character falls for the young waitress and ends up in a black hole of never-ending torture.

This film is said to be the first film that “made Bette Davis a star.” And I agree completely.

Most of Davis’ characters are quite annoying. They’re typically very rude. Selfish. Prideful. Loud. And every other trait that characterizes a female. That’s a joke by the way, not all women are this way. Just about 80%. I’m just saying!

Though, this character is one of the most annoying characters in a Bette Davis film that I have ever seen. She’s extremely clingy, very loud, obnoxious, and the exact definition of an “overly attached girlfriend.”

Check this out..

This movie is amazing! The characters are both so real and they both exhibit the exact traits of a real life couple. This is not to say that all couples are this way, I’m just speaking of the ones that don’t work out…normally?

I have to say that it isn’t just Bette Davis’ character that is causing all the havoc in this film. It’s also Leslie Howard. As shown in the scene above, it’s pretty obvious to see that Howard’s character is just as attached as Davis’ character. If he didn’t continue to pursue her after all the problems she caused, then there would be no problems, now would there? Though if this were the case, where would this film be without these issues!

With all this being said… Watch this movie. It has been on Netflix for a long time, and it’s definitely worth your time! Also be sure to leave a comment with any questions below and let me know what you’d like me to watch next!

For now… Adios!

